top of page

COMM 305: Reflection Post

Being someone who has never actually created a website or ePortfolio for myself, I was a bit hesitant at first. I wasn’t sure if I would understand how to actually use the Wix website correctly, simply because I am no computer wizard and I was under the impression that you needed to be some super smart computer programmer to create an actual website. The first thing, and probably the most rudimentary task, was creating a log in and URL. After spending some time getting used to the website I realized that it actually wasn’t going to be as difficult as I was originally thinking.

There were some challenges however; it was extremely difficult picking which set-up, designs and backgrounds that I wanted to use simply because there were so many choices and possibilities. I found it very hard for me to make up my mind and that I unintentionally spent an abundance of time on this task. I’m positive that I’ll most likely change my layout a few times before the semester is over. Probably the task that was the most challenging for me in creating my ePortfolio was writing the ‘About Me’ page. I hardly ever am required or get the chance to write about myself, so finding what to say about me was very difficult. There was a lot of trial and error, typing and deleting, as well as asking my family what impressive things about myself I should consider writing down because I was doing nothing but drawing blanks.

After going back and forth with my layout, design and ‘About Me’ page, I think I’ve finally settled on some pages that I can be happy with at this stage. I am excited about my Wix page thus far even though I know there is still much work to do. I feel that my resume could most certainly be improved. I always get confused and a bit excessive with the information that I list. I know I have a hard time distinguishing between what relevant information should or should not be posted on my resume. I also am aware that I don’t particularly have any photos of myself dressed in professional attire and that I should work towards taking more appropriate pictures for this website.

At this point in the project I only have one question. I know that linking social media pages is optional at this point in time, however I do not have any social media whatsoever, mainly for personal reasons. Will it be a requirement for me to establish social media pages solely for the purpose of linking them to my website for this class?

bottom of page